The 17 Vices

This article enlists 17 vices with their dictionary meanings (in alphabetical order).  Keep these evil attributes at bay.

  1.  Anger: Strong passion or emotion of displeasure or antagonism , excited by real or supposed injury or insult to one ‘ self or others , or by the intent to do such injury.
  2. Arrogance: Making undue claims in an overbearing manner; that species of pride which consists in exorbitant claims of rank, dignity, estimation, or power, or which exalts the worth or importance of the person to an undue degree; proud contempt of others; lordliness; haughtiness; self-assumption; presumption.
  3. Bragging: exhibiting self-importance, boastful talk.
  4. Cowardice: Lack of courage to face danger; extreme timidity; base fear of danger or hurt; lack of spirit.
  5. Disloyalty: Lack of loyalty; lack of fidelity; violation of allegiance.
  6. Doubt: Lack of Trust and confidence. To suspect; to fear; to be apprehensive.
  7. Envy: A feeling of discontent and resentment aroused by and in conjunction with desire for the possessions or qualities of another.
  8. Greed: An excessive desire to acquire or possess more than what one needs or deserves, especially with respect to material wealth.
  9. Injustice: The practice of being unjust or unfair.
  10. Impatience: The quality of being impatient; want of endurance of pain, suffering, opposition, or delay; eagerness for change, or for something expected; restlessness; chafing of spirit; fretfulness; passion
  11. Jealousy: The quality of being jealous; earnest concern or solicitude; painful apprehension of rivalship in cases nearly affecting one’s happiness; painful suspicion of the faithfulness of husband, wife, or lover.
  12. Recklessness: Wild carelessness and disregard for consequences. Insufficient consideration.
  13. Sloth: Aversion to work or exertion; laziness; indolence.
  14. Untrustworthiness: The trait of not deserving trust or confidence
  15. Vanity: Inflated pride in oneself or one’s appearance.
  16. Weakness: The quality or state of being weak; want of strength or firmness; lack of vigor; want of resolution or of moral strength; feebleness.
  17. Wrath: Forceful, often vindictive anger.

Courtesy : VirtueScience

4 thoughts on “The 17 Vices

  1. Pingback: SiteMap: Published Articles « Prerna Jain

  2. Pingback: Round Up « Prerna Jain

  3. Pingback: SiteMap: Published Articles | E-Prerna.Com

  4. Pingback: Round Up | E-Prerna.Com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s